Incessant BEEPING!!!

So this morning started so peacefully that it was unreal. I woke up with the sun shining into my room, giving it a nice warm glow. As always, I woke up hungry this morning, so the first thing I did after getting dressed was go into the kitchen and make a bowl of oatmeal.

Just as I’m sticking the bowl into the microwave, I heard the loudest knock I’ve ever heard at our front door. The first thing I thought was “Oh [insert expletive here]!  COPS!!! Which one of my roommates commit a crime last night?!” I slowly crept to the door and opened it, only to find 4 or 5 men with these super tall orange poles that had cords hanging from them. At that point, I’m thinking I just let murderers into our apartment, when the first guys says with a smirk (probably at the horrified look on my face), “Fire Protection. We’re here to check your fire alarms.” My mind immediately flashed to the note from Housing that had been posted on our door all weekend and I felt so stupid for having been scared out my mind.

I stepped aside, let them in, grabbed my oatmeal and went to my room to eat it. Not even one minute after I sat down I heard the most high-pitched noise ever. I tried to ignore it because I knew they would probably only be checking the fire alarms for only about 5 minutes. I was soooo wrong. The alarms would turn off, then they’d turn them right back on. They did this about 8 times. I wanted to just yell at the to get out but they were only doing their job.

Finally just as my ears were about to bleed, they left and I had missed the entire show I wanted to watch before they got there because of that incessant beeping.

Moral of the story: I will never have a peaceful morning. It must not be allowed *sigh*

Comments on: "Incessant BEEPING!!!" (1)

  1. Whenever I wake up peacefully I’m always suspicious about what the day will bring. Nice blog!

Leave a Reply

